AVALON 2019 Innovation Awards short list revealed - Military Simulation & Training

AVALON 2019 Innovation Awards short list revealed

Twenty three SMEs, research institutions and individuals from six Australian states and territories have made the short list for the $60 thousand AVALON 2019 Innovation Awards.

The awards are open to Australian companies and the Australian subsidiaries of overseas parent companies. The innovation can be a new product or service to a new approach to business, with entries judged on originality and utility in aerospace, space and defence.

Judged by an expert panel, the awards attracted a record 68 submissions from 33 entrants. They will be presented in six categories as part of the Australian International Airshow and Aerospace & Defence Exposition, 26 February – 3 March 2019.

“The key criteria in the AVALON 2019 Innovation Awards is that the innovation must not only be ground breaking, but must also provide a tangible benefit in defence or industry,” said AVALON 2019 CEO Ian Honnery. “The awards are not about innovation for its own sake, but about creating products and services that solve problems, create opportunities and make a difference in the real world.”

Shortlisted AVALON 2019 Innovators:

Cassowary Machining & Fabrication – QLD – Chinook Helicopter SOS seat
Cryoclock Pty Limited – SA – Sapphire high precision timing clock
Deakin University – VIC – Haptically enabled Universal Motion Simulator
Defence Innovations Pty Limited – VIC – Non-Intrusive Flight Test Instrumentation System
DST Group – VIC – Hornet Outer Wing Static Test System
Immersaview – QLD – VADAAR LVC digital streaming system
InnovAero Pty Limited – WA – Big Eye aerial camera system
Inovor Technologies – SA – Space Situational Awareness System
Its Rocket Science Adventures – QLD – Water rocket teaching aid
Millswood Engineering – SA – Failsafe Flight Safety Device
Nova Systems Australia – SA – Requirements Assurance and Validation Suite
Opaque Media Pty Limited – VIC – AIVA training assessment platform
RMIT University – VIC – Black Kite UAV
Seeing Machines Limited – ACT – Pilot eye scanning technology
Toll Helicopters – NSW – ACE Training Centre
Varley Group – NSW – Mudbucket avionics integration solution

Shortlisted AVALON 2019 Candidates for Young Innovator Award:

Graham Bell – VIC – Monash University and NextAero Pty Limited
Steen Bisgaard – QLD – GaardTech Pty Limited
Jordan Forsyth – NSW – JAR Aerospace
William Henderson – VIC – Nova Systems Australia Pty Limited
Jimmy Toton – VIC – RMIT University and DMTC Limited
Achim Washington – VIC – RMIT University
Joshua Wilson – QLD – Skyborne Technologies